You Might Want to Skip That DNA Test…

PomeroySays
5 min readSep 6, 2022
Canva source

DNA tests are not fun and games. You might find out exactly what you thought you would. OR you might find out your parents aren’t your parents. Or you have a half-brother or sister out there. Or that your dad has a second family in the town over.

Many Americans are on a quest to find out their family history. I love genealogy and have traced my family back to include over 5000 connections. However, I won’t be getting my DNA done anytime soon.

I have found so many unusual ancestor stories during the past 20+ years of research. It is like falling down a rabbit hole. I have found I am related to Mayflower pioneers, Revolutionary War heroes, presidents, kings, queens, and rebels.

I have also worked on my husband’s family tree and his tree is a lot tamer, compared to mine. He has a heavy mix of English and Eastern European ancestors. There don’t appear to be too many surprises in his tree.

So he decided to take the DNA test. My husband got back his test results recently, it took almost a month. He expected some of these results, but some were a surprise:

Author source

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/