Why Do Rich People Think They Know More Than The Rest of Us?

PomeroySays
4 min readMar 11, 2022
Not my aunt but looks similar

Ok, this is something I’ve been needing to write for a while.

Why do rich people, or even just well-off people, think they are smarter than the rest of us?

When I was a kid, my wealthy aunt and uncle had money. It inspired me to write “My Uncle Was a 21st Century Ebenezer Scrooge.” And as one very insightful reader pointed out, he was actually Marley. Because in the end, he never learned his lesson before he died in 2020.

They would come over very rarely to visit. They would look around our small 900 sq. foot home, with its old, hand-me-down furniture and old appliances, and judge us.

I never felt equal to them or good enough. Most of my cousins were a lot older than me and I had nothing in common with them. I wrote about one of them in “The Tale of Two Cousins: One Rich and One Poor.”

My mom had depression and other issues, so my aunt took it upon herself to help out. My mom slept a lot and wouldn’t go to therapy or take medication.

So my aunt noticed this and started to give advice. All the time. It got so bad at one point that my mom stopped talking to my dad’s brother and his wife.

Sometimes the help was good. But other times it was hurtful.

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/