The Secret Diaries of Anne of York and Her Tragic Love Story

PomeroySays
10 min readFeb 13, 2024

According to my grandmother, from family stories and historical accounts, this is the story of Thomas and Anne, my 12th Great Grandparents.

For more of the story of the York brothers and the infamous Richard III, I’ve written an article you’ll like.

ANNE OF YORK

On a humid morning of August 1439, I came screaming into the world. As the first child of Richard and Cecily, I was born to the wealth and power that comes with being a Plantaganet. Being firstborn came with privileges. But not being born male was a detriment. My mother gave birth to many more children, including Edward IV (1461–1483) and Richard III (1483–1485); and of Edmund, Earl of Rutland, Elizabeth of York, Duchess of Suffolk, Margaret, Duchess of Burgundy and of George Plantagenet, 1st Duke of Clarence.

Being the sister of two kings had its perks. While I only lived to see Edward on the throne, it was better I had died before Richard stole the throne from my nephews.

May 1, 1447-

Father says I am to marry. While I know this is my place and how I am supposed to help my family…

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/