Nextdoor App Insanity: It’s Now a Dating Site?

PomeroySays
3 min readJul 5, 2024

I follow Nextdoor for all the craziness. Normally it is boring posts. But this one took all the prizes today. I have not posted their name to protect their privacy. (though I’m not sure why, this post is insane)

“I am fairly new to the Midwest. I’m not familiar with the customs and social etiquette of this part of the country. Although, I have noticed that everyone is super friendly. I guess my question has to do with the men, particularly blue-collar farmhands toiling away in the humidity. How can I approach these guys without being too pushy? What are some phrases I can learn to interact better? Is there such a thing as too hot to speak to?”

There is so much to unpack here.

Are they looking for a date?

Are they looking for someone to hire?

Are they lonely and need a friend?

The responses were gold! One was -My favorite “Tell him “Yes I think your Tractor’s Sexy”😂😂😂😂😂😂

More responses included:

Yes say hello

Just be kind !!

Leave them alone. They’re busy working. They’re not there to socialize.

Men being men everywhere, don’t speak to them…

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/