Millennial’s New Weapon: The Toxic Silent Treatment

PomeroySays
4 min readOct 13, 2022
Canva source

So many in society are now cutting off family and friends because they are toxic. I would like to ask, who are they to judge others so harshly?

This seems to be especially prevalent with millennials. They are obsessed with “protecting their peace” and “need to get rid of toxic people.”

These are also the same people who are going to wind up completely alone.

Because I am the type of person who has seen a lot in life. And while I might take breaks from difficult family members, I haven’t cut them off. I am a peacemaker and don't see it as my place to judge others.

And a break from someone is different than a full cut-off. And I should know, I am going through it myself for the past six years.

I have a family member I’ll refer to as T. She and I got along and were close for many years. But then something odd started to happen.

For the years leading up to T’s meltdown/cutting me off, T. would:

  • not answer my texts
  • refuse to talk on the phone
  • make excuses to not visit for holidays

THE WEDDING

When her wedding came up she would be nice to my face, so we would get the bridesmaid dresses together. I…

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/