Letters From The Time Traveler: The Pan Am Flight That Disappeared For 30 Years

PomeroySays
9 min readNov 11, 2023

Dearest,

I have been a part of many mysteries but this one takes the cake. Pan Am Flight 914 will go down in history as the strangest flight in a century.

As you know, I love airplanes (or as you refer to them “flying machines”). I never got my pilot license because of my vision but I still enjoy it. But I did not expect what happened when I boarded Flight 914 in 1955.

What is Flight 914? Here is how they are reporting it now in 2023:

Pan Am Flight 914 was a Douglas DC-4 with 57 passengers and six crew members that took off from a New York City airport headed for Miami, Florida. The date was July 2, 1955. The flight was scheduled to last a couple of hours, but it never arrived in Miami. Instead, it showed up, unannounced and invisible to Caracas radar, on March 9, 1985! Voicing his concerns to the tower, the pilot, after a textbook landing, taxied toward the gate, and ground handlers could see the faces of the screaming passengers pressed up against their windows, looking at a fantastic new world. The pilot, for his part, dropped a small calendar out the window before he made a hasty turn back to the runway, where he took off and disappeared as suddenly as he had arrived. And the calendar? Did he drop it accidentally? Or does it hold…

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/