It’s a Big Wake Up Call When You Find Out About a Family Member’s Death By Google Alert

PomeroySays
4 min readDec 3, 2023
Remember the old days of taking the phone off the hook if you didn’t want to speak with someone? Miss that!

I just found out a relative passed- by Google Alert. I had spent time with Mary* several years ago and she was a very kind person. She was only 77 when she passed.

The person I am estranged from did not tell me. Her mother-in-law was like a mother to her, for over 13 years. I know how important this woman was in her life.

And I found out on a Google alert.

That is messed up. And the fun doesn’t stop there. A few years ago, I found out my uncle passed by a simple Google search.

Technology is a blessing but also a curse. I am tired of finding out relatives have passed on Google.

This brings me to the point of this article: The millennial trend of cutting off toxic people has to stop. Because you know what? Death is permanent.

The funeral is across the country and I can’t get out there in time. I am sending a card but I feel this important right to give condolences has been taken from me.

The person I haven’t communicated with hardly in seven years will probably never talk to me again. When I try to reach out to them, it is like reaching out to a ghost. But not even Zak Bagans or an Ouija board could reach this person.

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/