“I’ll Let You Know” Is Code For I Am Not Attending Your Event, Ever.

PomeroySays
7 min readMay 28, 2024
How I feel at some of these parties. LMAO.

Summer is here and with it, the “required” Memorial Day, 4th of July, graduations, Father’s Day, weddings, etc. So many invites and so many chances to offend a “Midwest nice” person.

What Causes This Passive/Aggressive Behavior?

I think the unofficial Midwest motto is to “offend no one at all cost”.

Even when it means using passive-aggressive behavior to get what they want.

One of the biggest conflicts I have about living in the Midwest is passive-aggressive behavior. Especially when it comes to events like weddings, funerals, graduations, etc.

I grew up in upstate NY and am not used to this kind of behavior. I am used to people who are very straightforward. It can be hard to get used to that but it saves a lot of time.

I am from a family who was very outspoken and just got to the point quickly. They did not sugarcoat things or beat around the bush.

Then I moved here. I found out how much I missed the refreshing New Englander's directness. I noticed how much I missed it when I was at a work event 6 months ago and not only did one of the attendees have a NY accent, they were very direct.

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/