Disney Trips, Jordache Jeans and More: 10+ Status Symbols of the 1980s/1990’s Rich Kids

PomeroySays
5 min readJul 5, 2024

When I was a kid, these status symbols meant your 1980’s friend was RICH!

COMPUTER

If you had a computer in your home, you were super rich. I remember one kid named Jason who had a computer, lived in an average home but we all thought he was rich. This was in the late 1980s. I look back now and know he did not have money. And probably his parents went into debt to buy the computer.

BARBIE DREAMHOUSE

This was the #1 on my wishlist for years in the 1980s. Every little girl who loved Barbie needed this dream house. Alas, I never got one.

FERRERO ROCHER CHOCOLATES

For some reason among those I hung out with, these were known as the “fancy”…

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/