7+ Reasons Why Most Millennials and Gen Z Can’t Make Ends Meet

It’s Not Just Lack of Income…

PomeroySays
7 min readDec 1, 2023
Canva source

I asked a few of my friends and others recently what dumb financial decisions they have made that led to financial failure. And they did not hold back!

Here are some examples of dumb a** decisions:

MARRYING A FINANCIALLY IRRESPONSIBLE PERSON

My friend Jen married a spendthrift. She didn’t realize he was running up credit cards and loans in her name. When they got divorced, her credit was ruined and she was on the hook for thousands of dollars.

My ex-husband destroyed my credit (because my credit was linked with his), and he left me with a grand total of $10,000 and 3 kids.”

I worked hard to recover from that, but when it came time to apply for a mortgage, I had to settle for the highest interest rate.

LIVING IN THE WRONG PLACE

Another friend Heather just moved into a new apartment. It was in a better neighborhood than her old one. But the heater recently broke. And now she is now stuck.

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/