5+ Ways To Handle Being Ghosted

PomeroySays
5 min readAug 2, 2024

Ghosting is not just for romantic relationships. I’m going to tell you a story about a friend of mine in college who ghosted me and never looked back.

We had been best friends for the first two years of college. Then suddenly, in junior year, she stopped talking to me and would not even say hi to me on campus. It was ridiculous. Back in the 90’s, there was no social media (though we had the Internet) and I had no idea why she had become a different person. It was bizarre.

I knew if we ever talked again, I could never trust her. How can you? When someone ghosts you unexpectedly, it doesn’t make sense.

Years later, she found me on Facebook and we became Facebook friends. We no longer have anything in common. She lives across the country and is single. It’s nice we found some kind of peace at the end but I still don’t understand why it happened.

I learned the hard way that women are more vicious about ghosting friends than men. I’d rather honestly be friends with men. With the exception of a few friends, it is hard for me to be friends or trust women’s friendships.

They seem to operate on a temporary friendship schedule. They are nice to you if you are useful to them ie. money, babysitting their kids, or listening to their problems. But once you are no longer useful, they head for the door.

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/