10 Survival Lessons Learned from Experiencing Homelessness at Age 10

PomeroySays
6 min readJust now

When I was around 10 years old, my mom decided she wanted to get a divorce from my dad. My dad did not want a divorce. We became homeless as a result of her poor planning, lack of money, and lack of a job.

That summer after school ended, we moved out and bounced from relative to relative’s house. I stayed with my great aunt, who was a chain smoker. And I had asthma. She ignored me while watching “As The World Turns” and smoking her cigarettes. My sister went to live with our aunt. It was a really messed up situation.

Eventually, my mom, sister, and I were reunited and had to go to a battered woman’s shelter, that was housed in an old 1800s building. We had rules to follow and were not allowed to tell anyone where we lived. My sister F. was only 5 years old and cried herself to sleep at night. She wanted to go home. We had packed in a rush and only had a few bags between us, including stuff in garbage bags. Our toys and bikes sat at home, waiting for us.

As the oldest, I had to take it in stride and protect my mom and sister the best way I could. I learned how to tell if I could trust someone. I learned how to be street savvy and survive.

We met a lot of people there. Women who were trying to get away from abusive boyfriends or just lost their job…

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/