10+ Crazy Ways Most People Waste Money Every Month

PomeroySays
4 min readJul 5, 2024

While I write about saving money, I am also guilty of wasting money too. Here are some items I have noticed many of us waste money on.

FOOD WASTE:

I am a sucker for whatever Costco’s newest dessert is. First, it was the chocolate pie (ehh), then the berry pie, then the lemon meringue cheesecake, and now the strawberry and cream pie (yum). The problem is Costco desserts are so big and only half gets eaten if that. So while I love trying new desserts, there is some element of food waste.

I have been actively working on cutting down on food waste, by not buying food I used to. And it has worked.

COUPONS:

I have always loved using coupons and app coupons make it even easier. But it’s a big money-waster when the coupon requires a $50 order to save $10. So even if I was only going in for one thing, I wind up spending $50 to get my money’s worth. This also applies to high-value coupons.

This is a hard one for me because I am addicted to the thrill of saving money. It gives me a rush to save $1! I need to learn to channel that energy into other productive pursuits.

POINT PROGRAMS:

I am also hooked on point programs like Fetch. The problem is programs like Fetch have…

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/