10+ Best Passive Aggressive Gifts That Send a Message

PomeroySays
2 min readDec 3, 2023
Canva source

Gifts are not just gifts. They can also be coded messages. And what better time to send a passive-aggressive message than Christmas?

It’s normally not socially acceptable to give bad or passive-aggressive gifts for the rest of the year. Especially on someone’s birthday. Or weddings. But Christmas is the perfect time to send a message!

Passive-aggressive people tend to give these types of gifts because they don’t have the guts to just tell the person they don’t like them. Or give them some old-school coal in their stocking. So they resort to what they think are subtle gifting messages.

I have been given passive-aggressive gifts and it sucks. Some are downright aggressive! This is an aggravating one for me. I have gotten so many passive-aggressive gifts. And there is no good way to say thank you and be ok with it. What do I mean by that?

One year I got a diet book from a well-meaning friend, who always was worried about my weight “for my health”. Another year I got sugar-free candy from someone who thought (assumed) I was diabetic. The list goes on and on. And of course, I have received many re-gifts, some with the wrapping paper still attached.

Another year my cousin was given maternity clothing from her mother-in-law, who was hoping for a grandbaby.

--

--

PomeroySays

New England born- now living in the Midwest. Blogger, author, influencer, and history addict. Say hi on KoFi- https://ko-fi.com/pomeroysays/